Money basics

Apps like Duolingo for personal finance, compared

Short answer

Duolingo has no personal finance course; its App Store listing covers languages, math, music and chess. Seven other apps teach money in short lessons. They differ on price, on how much of the content is personal finance, and on which country's rules they follow. Scroll is one of the seven, and it's ours.

Scroll is our app, so read this comparison knowing who wrote it. We built it from each app’s own App Store or Google Play listing and website, as they read on 14 October 2026. We didn’t run a lab test or score the apps against each other, and they’re listed in alphabetical order. Where a listing doesn’t say something, the tables say so.

Scroll has no connection to Duolingo, and Duolingo’s App Store listing names four subjects, none of them money. The seven apps below teach money in short lessons, modules or videos. Only some of them teach personal finance, meaning the everyday side of money (pay, tax, saving, debt and investing for retirement), and the rest lean toward trading or general knowledge.

The seven apps side by side

Prices are in US dollars, from the US App Store or each app’s website. Apple and Google set local prices in other countries, so your store may show different figures.

How each app teaches

App Money content Lesson length Quizzes
Finelo Trading and investing (stocks, forex, crypto), with AI trading tools About 3 minutes, per its website Yes, plus a market simulator that uses virtual money
Imprint Finance is one subject among psychology, philosophy, history and others A chapter in two minutes or less Daily quizzes
Khan Academy A free Financial Literacy course in nine units, including budgeting, credit, insurance, investing and taxes Not stated; videos, articles and exercises Practice exercises
Money Masters Business stories, financial history, and an Academy with a personal finance and budgeting track About 5 minutes Questions at the end of every lesson, plus daily trivia
Nibble Personal finance is one of 35+ subjects 3 to 10 minutes, per its website Built into its interactive lessons
Scroll Personal finance only: pay, tax, saving, debt, investing, scams and property 45 to 100 seconds One multiple-choice question after every lesson
Zogo Personal finance in short modules (more than 1,200, per its website) Not stated Not described in its listing

Price, platforms and bank access

App Price (US) Platforms Countries and rules Bank link
Finelo Subscription required; App Store plans from $9.99 to $119.99, with AI tools sold separately iPhone, Android 10 languages; no countries named Release notes mention a brokerage connection for its trading bots
Imprint Subscription: $15.99 a month, or $74.99 to $99.99 a year iPhone, iPad, Android Not stated None described
Khan Academy Free Web, plus Khan Academy’s iPhone, iPad and Android app US: built on state standards, with versions for Florida, Texas and Indiana None described
Money Masters Free with ads; Premium $5.99 a month or $44.99 a year iPhone, iPad Not stated None described
Nibble First lesson free, then a subscription: $19.99 a month, $39.99 for three months, or $12.99 to $89.99 a year iPhone, Android, web Not stated None described
Scroll Free plan of 5 lessons a day; Plus $7.99 a month, $49.99 a year (7-day free trial) or $99.99 once iPhone, iPad, Android; no web version 23 countries, each with its own currency, tax rules and account names Never connects to a bank
Zogo Free to download; banks and credit unions pay for access iPhone, iPad; web and branded versions for partner institutions US: content aligned with the Jump$tart national standards None described; rewards may need account verification

Store ratings

On the US App Store on 14 October 2026, Zogo and Imprint both averaged 4.8 stars, from 57,607 and 57,572 ratings. Finelo and Khan Academy averaged 4.6, from 101,331 and 112,296 (Khan Academy’s figure covers the whole app, not only the finance course). Nibble and Money Masters averaged 4.3, from 46,828 and 40. Scroll had too few ratings for the App Store to show an average.

A rating tells you how people feel about an app; it doesn’t measure what they learned. Surveys of what adults know about money are a different story, covered in the money questions most adults get wrong.

What each app teaches, from its own listing

Each summary sticks to what the app’s own listing or website says.

Finelo

Finelo’s website describes 300+ lessons of about three minutes each, in 10 languages, with quizzes, daily streaks and a market simulator that runs on virtual money. On the App Store it’s called Finelo: Master Trading, and its courses cover trading strategies, risk management and market psychology for stocks, forex and crypto. Recent versions added AI trading bots, and the notes for version 1.47.0 mention a brokerage connection, with account balances and funding prompts. The listing doesn’t mention budgeting, debt or tax.

The app needs a subscription. Some content costs extra, and on Finelo’s pricing page the first four weeks cost $19.99 as an introductory price. Finelo’s listing says the app is for education and doesn’t give personalized financial advice.

Imprint

Imprint, listed as Imprint: Visual Micro Learning, turns books and courses into illustrated lessons, with chapters you can finish in two minutes or less and daily quizzes. Finance is one subject among psychology, philosophy and history; its catalog includes a course on finance and investing and a beginner’s book on the stock market. It’s a subscription, at $15.99 a month or $74.99 to $99.99 a year on the US App Store, and it’s on Android too (Imprint on Google Play shows 4.5 stars from 13,307 ratings).

Khan Academy

Khan Academy’s Financial Literacy course is free, like the rest of its library. Khan Academy announced the course in July 2023 with nine units: budgeting and saving, consumer credit, goal setting, loans and debt, insurance, investments and retirement, scams and fraud, careers and education, and taxes. The lessons are videos with Sal Khan, articles and practice exercises. Walmart is the course’s founding sponsor, with support from Intuit and Capital One.

The course is written to US state standards. Khan Academy also has versions for Florida, Texas and Indiana, three states that have added personal finance to their high-school requirements. The course is designed to fit high-school classes, but anyone can take it, on the web or in the Khan Academy app.

Money Masters

Money Masters: Learn Finance mixes short business stories and financial history with an Academy of 300+ lessons in five tracks: personal finance and budgeting, investing basics, economics, trading fundamentals and corporate finance. Its listing says lessons take about five minutes and each ends with questions. There’s also a daily trivia quiz with a global leaderboard, plus XP and streaks.

The free version has ads. It includes the Academy, the daily trivia and the stories, while Premium ($5.99 a month or $44.99 a year) opens the full Academy and every article and removes the ads. It had 40 ratings on the US App Store, and we didn’t find a Google Play version.

Nibble

Nibble covers 35+ subjects, including math, history and personal finance. Lessons are interactive and include quizzes, and the app also has games, chats with AI tutors, and video and audio episodes. Most lessons take 3 to 10 minutes, according to its website, which doesn’t say how many of them are about money.

The first lesson is free. After that it’s a subscription, listed on Nibble’s US App Store page at $19.99 a month or $12.99 to $89.99 a year, and Nibble’s own price guide says the 7-day trial comes with the yearly plan. It runs on iPhone, Android and the web.

Scroll, our app

Scroll is a feed of 950+ lessons, each 45 to 100 seconds long and followed by one multiple-choice question. All of it is personal finance. Six of Scroll’s nine lesson topics are free (money basics, saving, investing, debt, money psychology, and scams and traps), and tax, property and UK accounts need Scroll Plus.

Lessons use the currency, tax rules and account names of 23 countries, so a UK reader sees ISAs and a US reader sees 401(k)s and Roth IRAs. The app never connects to a bank or sees your transactions. The free plan allows 5 lessons a day, and Plus removes the limit for $7.99 a month, $49.99 a year with a 7-day free trial, or $99.99 once, in the US.

It has three limits, as of 14 October 2026. There’s no web version of the lessons, only the iPhone, iPad and Android apps, and the app is new, with too few App Store ratings for the store to show an average. And anyone who wants more than five lessons a day needs Plus.

Zogo

Zogo: Learn and Earn is free to download and breaks personal finance into short modules; Zogo’s website counts more than 1,200. Its customers are banks, credit unions and other organizations, which sponsor their members’ access and can also buy web and branded versions of the app. Members of a partner sign up with an access code (Zogo’s partner download page).

Learners collect coins to swap for rewards in an in-app marketplace, and Zogo’s site says you may need to verify your account before redeeming them. The content is aligned with the Jump$tart Coalition’s national standards for personal finance education in the US, and it’s for ages 13 and up. It’s on the App Store; we didn’t find it on Google Play.

How to choose between them

The listings sort the seven apps into a few groups, depending on what you want from them:

  • If cost decides it, Khan Academy’s course is free and Zogo is free to download. Money Masters and Scroll have free plans with limits.
  • If you want to learn trading, Finelo is the only one of the seven built around it (Money Masters has one trading track among five).
  • If money is one interest among many, Nibble and Imprint mix it with other subjects, and neither says how much of its catalog is about money.
  • If you live outside the US, check whose rules an app teaches. Khan Academy and Zogo follow US standards, and Finelo, Imprint, Money Masters and Nibble don’t name a country. Scroll is the only one of the seven whose listing says it sets lessons to a country’s accounts, tax rules and currency.
  • If you don’t want an app near your bank account, none of the seven listings mentions linking one to take lessons. Finelo’s trading bots are the exception to watch: its release notes mention a brokerage connection.

Before you pay for any of them

Check the price in your own store first. The figures above are US prices from 14 October 2026. See which plan the free trial is attached to; Scroll’s and Nibble’s trials come with the yearly plan. To cancel, use your App Store or Google Play subscription settings, since deleting an app doesn’t end its subscription (Nibble’s listing and Scroll’s FAQ both say so).

If you’d like to see what you already know before choosing, our 12-question financial literacy test starts with reworded versions of the three questions from Annamaria Lusardi and Olivia Mitchell’s research and explains the working behind every answer.

Drafted with AI assistance. Every figure was checked against the sources listed, on 14 October 2026.

FAQ

Questions people also ask

Is there a Duolingo for finance?

Not from Duolingo: its App Store listing covers languages, math, music and chess. Apps that teach money in short lessons include Finelo, Imprint, Khan Academy, Money Masters, Nibble, Scroll and Zogo. Only some of them focus on personal finance. Finelo concentrates on trading, and Nibble and Imprint mix money with other subjects.

What is the best app to learn personal finance?

We haven't tested the apps side by side, so we don't rank them. Khan Academy's course is free and follows US standards, Zogo is free because banks and credit unions pay for it, Finelo concentrates on trading, Nibble and Imprint mix money with other subjects, and Scroll (our app) sets its lessons to 23 countries' rules.

Are there free apps to learn personal finance?

Yes. Khan Academy's Financial Literacy course is free, and Zogo is free to download because banks and credit unions sponsor it. Money Masters is free with ads and keeps part of its Academy for Premium. Scroll's free plan gives 5 lessons a day with no time limit.

Do financial literacy apps need access to my bank account?

None of the seven apps compared here mentions linking a bank account to take its lessons. Finelo's release notes mention a brokerage connection for its AI trading bots. Scroll never connects to a bank, never sees transactions and never asks for account details.

Is there a personal finance app for people outside the US?

Scroll sets its lessons to the currency, tax rules and account names of 23 countries, including the UK, Canada, Australia, Ireland, New Zealand and India. Khan Academy's course and Zogo follow US standards. Finelo is available in 10 languages but doesn't say which countries' rules it uses.

Sources

  1. Apple App Store, Scroll: Learn Personal Finance (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  2. Google Play, Scroll: Learn Personal Finance (checked 14 October 2026)
  3. Apple App Store, Duolingo (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  4. Apple App Store, Finelo: Master Trading (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  5. Google Play, Finelo: Master Trading (checked 14 October 2026)
  6. Finelo, home page (checked 14 October 2026)
  7. Finelo, pricing (checked 14 October 2026)
  8. Apple App Store, Imprint: Visual Micro Learning (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  9. Google Play, Imprint: Learn Visually (checked 14 October 2026)
  10. Apple App Store, Khan Academy (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  11. Google Play, Khan Academy (checked 14 October 2026)
  12. Khan Academy Blog, Introducing our new course on financial literacy (18 July 2023) (checked 14 October 2026)
  13. Khan Academy Blog, Free financial literacy courses for Florida, Texas, Indiana and beyond (9 September 2026) (checked 14 October 2026)
  14. Apple App Store, Money Masters: Learn Finance (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  15. Apple App Store, Nibble: Daily Learning & Quiz (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  16. Google Play, Nibble: Daily Learning & Quiz (checked 14 October 2026)
  17. Nibble, home page (checked 14 October 2026)
  18. Nibble, How much is Nibble? (updated 7 October 2026) (checked 14 October 2026)
  19. Apple App Store, Zogo: Learn and Earn (US listing) (checked 14 October 2026)
  20. Zogo, home page (products for banks and credit unions) (checked 14 October 2026)
  21. Zogo, partner app download page (checked 14 October 2026)

Related guides